Memorial Day Festivities

Memorial Day 023-7

I know I’m digressing a bit, but I hope you all had a wonderful Memorial Day!! We spent a bit of time exploring the tide pools at Crystal Cove State Beach yesterday. The kids had a blast building a hermit crab hotel and petting a sea slug named Sandy. We didn’t have any luck finding any sea anemones or starfish, but there were plenty of crabs, sea snails and hermit crabs around.

Memorial Day 031-11

Memorial Day 032-12

Aside from getting some extra Vitamin D, I got a chance to shoot on a beautiful beach and try out my neutral density filter. The neutral density filter allowed me to use a wider aperture to reduce the depth of field in very bright direct sunlight. It comes in handy because sometimes you can be limited by how much you can change the exposure compensation settings on your camera. Plus you can do fun blurring water images with it too if you happen to carry a tripod with you. Now if only I could get my husband to carry around a scrim to keep the direct sunlight off my model’s face! Well maybe I shouldn’t complain because for this photo he was the scrim! Happy shooting friends!

FB Memorial Day 016-5

This entry was published on May 28, 2013 at 10:09 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

